Friday, 23 September 2016

Nominees announced for Best West End Debut 2016!

Nominees have been announced for Best West End Debut 2016, the final West End Frame Award. Voting opens later today (23rd September) at 2pm and closes on Wednesday 28th September 2016 at 3pm. 

The nominees are: Alexandra Ncube (Nabulungi/The Book of Mormon), Anthony Boyle (Scorpius Malfoy/Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), Cedric Neal (Berry Gordy/Motown The Musical), Daisy Alice Hulbert (Meg Giry/The Phantom of the Opera), Declan Egan (Bob Gaudio/Jersey Boys), Elena Skye (Lauren/Kinky Boots), Jemma Revell (Ali/Mamma Mia!), Jeremy Lloyd (Officer Randal Shuck/The Comedy About A Bank Robbery), Joanne Ferguson (Annie/The Play That Goes Wrong), Joseph Ayre (Christopher Boone/Curious Incident), Matt Connor (The Actor/The Woman In Black), Newton Faulkner (Johnny/American Idiot), Nicholas Afoa (Simba/The Lion King), Suzie Mathers (Glinda/Wicked) and Trevor Dion Nicholas (Genie/Aladdin). 

Last year's Best West End Debut Award was won by Matt Cardle for making his West End debut in Memphis. Previous winners also include Willemijn Verkaik (Wicked), Zrinka Cvitešić (Once) and Shayne Ward (Rock Of Ages).

Unlike other theatre awards, West End Frame only opens voting for one category at a time and combines male and female actors from new and long-running productions into the same categories (where applicable). 

The 2016 West End Frame Awards began in June with Rachelle Ann Go winning Best Performance of a Song for her rendition of 'I Dreamed A Dream' in Les Miserables. Last month Curious Incident's Thomas Dennis won Understudy of the Year. 

No comments:

Post a Comment