Wednesday, 31 August 2016

Curious Incident's Thomas Dennis wins Understudy of the Year 2016!

We are delighted to announce that Thomas Dennis has won West End Frame's Understudy of the Year 2016 for alternating the role of Christopher Boone in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

Speaking to West End Frame, Dennis said:  "Christopher would say 'It's the best result' - I would say this is just awesome! To see that five years on, Christopher is still helping audiences 'see the world differently' is a testament to the power of theatre.

"I would like to say a herculean thank you to everyone who has supported me by voting. It is humbling to know that my performance of this amazing young man and his journey is recognised in such a way. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time demands a tight knit ensemble and I feel very blessed to be working with this cast and crew who share the same commitment to Christopher's Journey as I do. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!"

Dennis joined the West End production of Curious Incident at the Gielgud Theatre as alternate Christopher in June this year. His theatre credits also include: Bobbie in Yen (Sweden), Michael Darling in Peter Pan (Regent's Park Open Air Theatre) and Jamie in Chalk Farm (Edinburgh/Bush/off-Broadway). On screen he has appeared in Parents, Henry V and Hysteria.

The incredible Natasha Barnes finishes second for alternating the role of Fanny Brice in Funny Girl at the Savoy Theatre. In true Understudy of the Year style, the final result was close with just 3% separating the top two. Over 21,000 votes were counted in total.

Runners-up also include Robbie White (Understudy Ray, Dave, Pete & Mick/Sunny Afternoon), Kane Oliver Parry (Understudy Fiyero/Wicked), Hollie O'Donoghue (Understudy Éponine/Les Miserables) and Gareth Tempest (Understudy Warren Slax & Mitch/The Comedy About A Bank Robbery). Click here for the full result.

Last year's Understudy of the Year Award was won by Jacqueline Hughes for standing by as Elphaba in Wicked. Zoë Birkett (alternate Rachel/The Bodyguard) finished second whilst Ryan O'Donnell (understudy Ray Davies/Sunny Afternoon) finished third. All three have since gone on to play their respective roles full-time. 

Previous winners also include Carolyn Maitland (understudy Ellen/Miss Saigon), Ashley Day (understudy Elder Price/The Book of Mormon) and Katy Treharne (alternate Christine/The Phantom of the Opera).

Understudy of the Year runs as part of the 2016 West End Frame Awards. Unlike other theatre awards, West End Frame only opens voting for one category at a time and combines male and female actors from new and long-running productions into the same categories (where applicable). The 2016 West End Frame Awards began in June with Rachelle Ann Go winning Best Performance of a Song for her rendition of 'I Dreamed A Dream' in Les Miserables. 

No comments:

Post a Comment