Monday, 6 June 2016

Nominees announced for Best Performance of a Song 2016

We are delighted to confirm nominations for West End Frame's 2016 Best Performance of a Song Award.

Running as part of the 2016 West End Frame Awards, voting for Best Performance of a Song opens at 1pm on Tuesday 7th June and closes at 3pm on Wednesday 22nd June 2016. The result will be announced on Friday 24th June 2016.

The nominees are:
  • Ben Forster – ‘The Music of the Night’ – The Phantom of the Opera
  • Cassidy Janson – ‘(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman’ – Beautiful
  • Danny Horn – ‘Waterloo Sunset’ – Sunny Afternoon
  • Emma Williams – ‘If Mountains Were Easy To Climb’ – Mrs Henderson Presents
  • Gavin Spokes – ‘Sit Down, You're Rockin' the Boat’ – Guys and Dolls
  • Jo Napthine – ‘Take a Chance on Me’ – Mamma Mia
  • Jonathan Slinger – ‘It Must Be Believed to Be Seen’ – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • Josie Benson – ‘Enough’ – In The Heights
  • KJ Hippensteel – ‘I Believe’ – The Book of Mormon
  • Lucy St Louis – ‘Reach Out And Touch’ – Motown
  • Matt Corner – ‘Can't Take My Eyes Off You’ – Jersey Boys
  • Matt Henry – ‘Hold Me In Your Heart’ – Kinky Boots
  • Miria Parvin – ‘My House’ – Matilda
  • Oliver Savile – ‘Dancing Through Life’ – Wicked
  • Rachelle Ann Go – ‘I Dreamed A Dream’ – Les Miserables
  • Rebecca Trehearn – ‘Bill’ – Show Boat
  • Shaun Escoffery – ‘They Live In You’ – The Lion King
  • Sheridan Smith – ‘Don’t Rain On My Parade’ – Funny Girl
Unlike other theatre awards, West End Frame only opens voting for one category at a time and combines male and female actors from new and long-running productions into the same categories (where applicable).

Last year's Best Performance of a Song Award was won by John Dagleish for his rendition of 'Waterloo Sunset' in Sunny Afternoon. Previous winners also include Rachel Tucker ('Defying Gravity'/Wicked), Tam Mutu ('Stars'/Les Miserables) and Sofia Escobar ('Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again'/The Phantom of the Opera). 

The 2015 West End Frame Awards also saw Matt Cardle win Best West End Debut, Jacqueline Hughes win Understudy of the Year and Sunny Afternoon win Most Inspiring West End Show.


  1. Congrats Rachelle Ann Go were here to support you...

  2. Congrats Rachelle Ann Go for making it!