Friday, 11 December 2015

The Color Purple starring Cynthia Erivo & Jennifer Hudson to release cast recording

It has been announced that a cast recording is being made for the Broadway revival of The Color Purple.

The album will be released on Friday 29th January 2016 with Broadway records. The musical officially opened on Broadway earlier this week on 3rd December to critical acclaim.

The cast is led by Cynthia Erivo and Jennifer Hudson as Celie and Shug Avery with Danielle Brooks (Sofia), Isaiah Johnson (Mister), Joaquina Kalukango (Nettie) and Kyle Scatliffe (Harpo). 

Completing the cast are: Phoenix Best, Dwayne Clark, Lawrence Clayton, Carrie Compere, Patrice Covington, Adrianna Hicks, Bre Jackson, Grasan Kingsberry, Kevyn Morrow, Ken Robinson, Antoine L. Smith, Carla R. Stewart, Akron Watson, and Rema Webb.

The show is directed by John Doyle who also directed The Color Purple's UK premiere at the Menier Chocolate Factory starring Erivo.

The Color Purple features a book by Marsha Norman, lyrics by Brenda Russell, Allee Willis and Stephen Bray and music by Russell and Willis.

No comments:

Post a Comment