Wednesday, 18 November 2015

Nominees announced for Best West End Debut Award 2015

Nominees have been announced for West End Frame's 2015 Best West End Debut Award.

Running as part of the 2015 West End Frame Awards, voting for Best West End Debut opens at 1pm today (18th November 2015), coinciding with #LoveTheatreDay. 

Voting closes at 3pm on Monday 30th November 2015 and the result will be announced on Wednesday 2nd December 2015.

The nominees are: Amelia Lily (Whatsername/American Idiot), Brian Sears (Elder Cunningham/The Book of Mormon), Chris Peluso (Chris/Miss Saigon), Danny Horn (Ray Davies/Sunny Afternoon), Gabriella Williams (Sophie Sheridan/Mamma Mia!), James Backway (Albert Narracott/War Horse), Jamie Campbell Bower (Joe/Bend It Like Beckham), Jessica Brown Findlay (Elektra/Oresteia), Kyle Riabko (Close To You: Bacharach Reimagined), Marcquelle Ward (Rum Tum Tugger/Cats), Matt Cardle (Huey Calhoun/Memphis) and Tom McGowan (The Wizard/Wicked).

Unlike other theatre awards, West End Frame only opens voting for one category at a time and combines male and female actors from new and long-running productions into the same categories (where applicable). This award is a celebration of the West End’s newest talent.

Last year’s Best West End Debut Award was won by Dutch actress Willemijn Verkaik for her performance as Elphaba in Wicked. Previous winners also include international star Zrinka Cvitešić (Girl/Once) and X Factor UK champion Shayne Ward (Stacee Jaxx/Rock Of Ages).

The 2015 West End Frame Awards began in March with Sunny Afternoon being named Most Inspiring West End Show. In May John Dagleish won Best Performance of a Song for his rendition of ‘Waterloo Sunset’ in Sunny Afternoon and in August Jacqueline Hughes won Understudy of the Year for standing by as Elphaba in Wicked. 

Read our interviews with Willemijn Verkaik & Zrinka Cvitešić about winning the award

No comments:

Post a Comment