Thursday, 10 September 2015

Full casting announced for Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

Casting has been announced for Chitty Chitty Bang Bang's run at the West Yorkshire Playhouse.

Jon Robyns (Memphis, Spamalot, Avenue Q) will play Caractacus Potts, with Amy Griffiths (Everyman, Stephen Ward, The Pajama Game) as Truly Scrumptious.

The cast will also feature Don Gallagher as Lord Scrumptious/Baron Bomburst, Tamsin Carroll as Baroness Bomburst, Stephen Matthews as The Childcatcher and Andy Hockley as Grandpa Potts.

Ewen Cummins plays The Toymaker/Mr Coggins, with Sam Harrison as Boris and Scott Paige as Goran, Completing the cast are: Kathryn Barnes, Rosanna Bates, Alex Louize Bird, Abigail Climer, Jade Davies, Matt Gillett, Ewan Gillies, Joanna Goodwin, Christopher D Hunt, Paul Iveson, Nia Jermin, Kelsie-Rae Marshall, Mollie Melia-Redgrave, Perry O’Dea, Matt Overfield, Ross Russell, Craig Turner and Robert Wilkes.

Stephen Mear will choreograph the new production of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang with direction from James Briningand design by Simon Higlett.

The show will open at the West Yorkshire Playhouse on 10th December 2015 (previews from 2nd December) where it runs until 30th January 2015. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang will then open at the Mayflower Theatre in Southampton from 10th February 2016 to launch a UK Tour with casting for the tour to be confirmed.

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang has music and lyrics by Richard M Sherman and Robert B Sherman, who were also responsible for Mary Poppins, The Slipper and the Rose, The Aristocats and The Jungle Book. The Sherman Brothers have won two Academy Awards with a further nine nominations, two Grammy Awards and they have received 21 gold and platinum albums.

No comments:

Post a Comment