Friday, 17 July 2015

Tom Jones musical to launch 2016 UK tour

It has been announced that Tom. A Story Of Tom Jones. The Musical is launching a UK tour.

The production will open on 7th March 2016 at the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff. Check out tour dates below (further venues to be announced). 

The show is written by Mike James and directed by Geinor Styles with musical direction by Ben Goddard, set design by Sean Crowley and sound design by Mike Beer.

Styles said: "Just very occasionally an opportunity comes along that has the words ’perfect fit’ written all the way through it like a stick of rock. In this case it’s rock and roll and the compelling story of the early days of this county’s most famous son – the living legend that is Sir Tom Jones."

Featuring hits of the era including ‘Ghost Riders in the Sky’, ‘Spanish Harlem’ and ‘Lucille’, the show tracks Tom’s climb to stardom. Ending with some the hits that made him one of the most charismatic stars of the day: ‘It’s Not Unusual’, ‘Delilah’, ‘Green, Green Grass of Home’, ‘What’s New Pussycat’ and more.

Step back in time to the dance halls, working men’s clubs and recording studios of the ‘60s where the legend of Tom Jones was born: a Valleys boy with a heart-stopping voice who dreamed of making the big time, no matter what it took.

This inspirational story of self-belief and determination is performed live on stage by a phenomenal cast of actors and musicians, celebrating an ordinary man with an extraordinary talent who became a superstar on a world stage.

2016 Tour Dates
(further venues to be announced)

Monday 7 March – Saturday 12 March 2016 
Wales Millenium Centre 

Tuesday 15 March – Saturday 19 March 2016 
Festival Theatre Edinburgh 

Wednesday 30 March – Saturday 2 April 2016 
Leicester Curve 

Tuesday 12 April – Saturday 16 April 2016 
Sheffield Lyceum 

Tuesday 19 April – Saturday 23 April 2016 
Bradford Alhambra 

Wednesday 25 May – Saturday 28 May 2016 
The Lowry 

No comments:

Post a Comment