Wednesday, 8 July 2015

Nominees announced for Understudy of the Year 2015

We are delighted to confirm the full list of nominees for West End Frame's Understudy of the Year Award 2015. 

Running as part of the 2015 West End Frame Awards, voting for Understudy of the Year will open tomorrow (Thursday 9th July) at 1pm. Voting closes at 3pm on Wednesday 12th August and the winner will be announced on Friday 14th August.

The award is a celebration of standbys, alternates and understudies, without whom the West End wouldn't be able to function. Due to public demand, this year for the first time ever 3 understudies/alternates/standbys from UK touring productions have been nominated alongside 25 West End understudies/alternates/standbys.

Understudies nominated include: Adam Bayjou (understudy Jean Valjean/Les Miserables), Charlotte Scott (understudy Miss Honey/Matilda), Claire Parrish (understudy Ellen/Miss Saigon), Dylan Turner (understudy Gerry Goffin/Beautiful), Emma Thornett (understudy Rose Narracott/War Horse), Gabrielle Brooks (understudy Nabalungi/The Book of Mormon), Henry Davis (understudy Tommy Devito/Jersey Boys UK Tour), Joanna Woodward (understudy Carole King/Beautiful), Mike Evans (understudy Richard Hannay/The 39 Steps), Nick Sayce (understudy Mick, Collins, Wace & Ray/Sunny Afternoon), Oliver Savile (understudy Raoul/Phantom of the Opera), Ross Hunter (understudy Elder Price/The Book of Mormon), Ryan O'Donnell (understudy Ray Davies/Sunny Afternoon) and Sejal Keshwala (understudy Pinky/Bend It Like Beckham)

Nominated alternates include: Alex Tomkins (alternate Deco/The Commitments), Christian Rey Marbella (alternate Engineer/Miss Saigon), Emmi Christensson (alternate Christine Daaé/Phantom of the Opera), Jon Robyns (alternate Huey/Memphis), Kaffe Keating (alternate Christopher Boone/Curious Incident), Rachel John (alternate Felicia/Memphis), Sandy Moffat (alternate Frankie Valli/Jersey Boys), Shona White (alternate Donna/Mamma Mia!), Wendy Somerville (alternate Mrs Wilkinson/Billy Elliot The Musical) and Zoë Birkett (alternate Rachel Marron/The Bodyguard UK Tour).

Nominated standbys include: Jacqueline Hughes (standby Elphaba/Wicked UK Tour), Jamie Golding (standby Timon, Zazu & Pumbaa/The Lion King), Natalie Andreou (standby Elphaba/Wicked) and Sophie Linder-Lee (standby Glinda/Wicked).

Unlike other theatre awards, West End Frame only opens voting for one category at a time and combines male and female actors from new and long-running productions into the same categories (where applicable). 

Last year’s Understudy of the Year Award was won by Carolyn Maitland for understudying Ellen in Miss Saigon. Previous winners also include: Ashley Day (understudy Elder Price/The Book of Mormon) and Katy Treharne (alternate Christine/The Phantom of the Opera). 

The 2015 West End Frame Awards began in March with Sunny Afternoon being named Most Inspiring West End Show and in May John Dagleish won Best Performance of a Song for his rendition of ‘Waterloo Sunset’ in Sunny Afternoon

Voting opens at 1pm tomorrow (9th July)

No comments:

Post a Comment