Tuesday, 3 March 2015

Full casting announced for Sweeney Todd starring Bryn Terfel & Emma Thompson

Full casting has been announced for Lonny Price's production of Sweeney Todd at the London Coliseum.

As previously revealed, the production stars: Bryn Terfel as Sweeney Todd, Emma Thompson as Mrs. Lovett, Matthew Seadon-Young as Anthony Hope, Katie Hall as Johanna Barker, Philip Quast as Judge Turpin, Jack North as Tobias Ragg, Alex Gaumond as Beadle Bamford, Rosalie Craig as Beggar Woman and John Owen-Jones as Pirelli. 

Joining them are: Madeleine Harland, Lydia Gerrard, Leah Penston, Frankie Jenna, Verity Quade, Susannah Van den Berg, Anna O’Byrne, Molly Lynch, Emily Bull, Gaia Wise, Alexandra Grierson, Vicki Lee Taylor, Katie Kerr, Ffion Emyr, Nancy Hill, Edd Campbell Bird, Alastair Brookshaw, Kane Oliver Parry, Scott Cripps, John Barr, Aaron Lee Lambert, Gary Tushaw, Ashley Robinson, Jeff Nicholson, Joseph Prouse, Gavin James, Marc Akinfolarin, Jacob Chapman, Ian Caddick and Adam Vaughan.

An extra performance has been scheduled on Sunday 5th April at 3pm. Sales for Sweeney Todd broke English National Opera box office records last September.

This production of Stephen Sondheim and Hugh Wheeler’s musical thriller marks the first production in a major new long term partnership between English National Opera (ENO) and the GradeLinnit Company. 

The show runs for just 14 performances between 30th March and 12th April with press night on 31st March. The ENO orchestra, conducted by David Charles Abell, will appear on stage alongside the cast in this semi-staged production. This production was originally produced by the New York Philharmonic at Lincoln Center last year, with orchestrations by Jonathan Tunick.

Photo Credit: Chris Lee

No comments:

Post a Comment