Wednesday, 25 February 2015

Mary Poppins to launch new UK & Ireland Tour at the Leicester Curve in October

Mary Poppins The Musical is set to tour the UK once again! The musical will open at the Leicester Curve on 13th October 2015.

Confirmed venues for the tour include the Bristol Hippodrome, Bord Gais Energy Theatre in Dublin, Palace Theatre in Manchester, Festival Theatre in Edinburgh and the Mayflower Theatre in Southampton. Further venues and dates will be confirmed soon. Casting is yet to be announced

Cameron Mackintosh said: “It’s hard to believe that it is already 11 years since Mary Poppins first landed on the London stage. My goodness……time flies even faster than our beloved Nanny! I’m delighted to be bringing her back to the UK and for the first time to Dublin, after spreading her magic around the world. Since we originally staged the production we have found even more magical ways to stage this timeless tale and I’m sure you will find our new Mary practically perfect in every way”.

The tour will be directed by Anthony Lyn, with choreography by Geoffrey Garratt and musical supervision by Stephen Brooker. The show has a score by Richard M Sherman and Robert B Sherman, with additional music and lyrics by George Stiles and Anthony Drewe

Mary Poppins originally opened in the West End in 2004 where it ran for three years whilst the Broadway production ran for over six years. The show has subsequently toured Australia, New Zealand, the U.S, the UK, has been seen by over 11 million people and is currently breaking box office records in Vienna.

Tour Dates
Further venues and dates will be confirmed soon

Tuesday 13 October – Saturday 24 October 2015
Leicester Curve 

Thursday 29 October – Saturday 28 November 2015
Bristol Hippodrome 

Thursday 3 December 2015 – Saturday 9 January 2016
Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Dublin 

Wednesday 20 January – Saturday 5 March 2016
Palace Theatre, Manchester 

Wednesday 9 March - Saturday 23 April 2016
Birmingham Hippodrome 

Wednesday 27 April – Saturday 21 May 2016
Festival Theatre, Edinburgh 

Wednesday 25 May – Sunday 19 June 2016
Mayflower Theatre, Southampton 

No comments:

Post a Comment